Writing Totems

According to Chris Baty’s book, No Plot, No Problem, I really need a writing totem. I have to confess that I think the idea is a tad bit silly, which is why I like it so damn much. I’m not a very superstitious person, but I’m certainly not above imbuing inanimate objects with semi-magical qualities if it gives me a good excuse to pad my word count a little.

I got these awesome handmade hats from Feral Works on Etsy. I know I’m only supposed to wear them when writing (so as not to needlessly use up their magical abilities) but they’re just so fun I can’t keep myself from wearing them outside the house.

In case you’re wondering, the hat is supposed to make me look like a fox, not a bunny. I know that the big pointy ears are a little jarring, but notice the little black tips.

The cat ears hat is pretty straight-forward. I like the material on this one a little better than the one on the fox hat. It isn’t quite as stretchy, so the fit is more snug.

2 Responses

  1. Love your writing hats. I have a few funky crocheted ones that I made especially for Nano. I plan on making a few more before Novemeber too. Fun!

  2. Very cool. Writing hats are so fun!

Leave a Reply

