Finally finished

Phew. As much as I enjoyed the process, it really was a drag having my Neo out of commission. Even though I’ve only had him for about two weeks now, I still missed the little guy. I missed our quick trysts in my car during impromptu, semi-legal breaks at work. I missed waking up a few minutes early to sneak out of bed and type on him before getting ready for work.

Now I think I’m officially done with pimping out my Neo. The color scheme is looking great and finally, the keyboard is done done done. My first experiment with the matte keyboard left me wanting something a little more slick and ergonomic. The matte finish looked nice, but it was a bit of a pain in the tuckus to write on because the keys had a little bit of “grip” to them. So I knew that I wanted to make the keys more slick and shiny. Also, the stickers that I had originally placed on the keyboard were just a little too thick, so I decided that decal paper would be best.

I can’t say that the process was totally pain free. First I had to strip the decals and the paint, letting the keys sit in a pretty purple bath for a few hours, then carefully scrubbing the paint away with the rough side of a sponge. After all that, we had to prime and paint the keys all over again, then wait for them to dry. In the meantime, I was cutting out the teeny-tiny decals for the letters. What a pain in the arse.

I had never worked with decal paper before so there were some mishaps on the way. My poor number 6 and the sad-looking ON/OFF switch are testaments to that. If I had to do it again, I’d probably glaze the keys first, let it all dry, and THEN slap the decals on them. They would probably stick better and possibly look nicer.

But I’m not going to redo it. This poor keyboard has really been through enough, don’t you think? I’m just ready to get back to work, writing my stories and pounding on those sweet, shiny keys.

Leave a Reply

