Neo-Politan

So here it is. I must say that I’m quite pleased with the color and texture of both the pink and the brown halves. The Plastikote pink on top is much smoother and shinier than the Krylon brown underside, which has a subtle glitter but is definitely matte.

Overall, I’m really digging the results. I’m a huge fan of the pink-white-brown Neapolitan color scheme and it’s so much easier on the eyes than that factory-issued hunter green. The original color did have a scholarly charm about it, but I really wanted to customize my Neo so it would be unique to me. I’m a writer, so naturally I’m big on self-expression, but I’m also a very visual creature. It just makes typing on the Neo a more pleasant experience, like I’m not just using I’m a machine, I’m working with a friend.

Still, I’m not totally done. I’m glad that I went through the whole process–it was a real learning experience–but I’m actually in the process of a semi-re-do on the keyboard. I’m stripping the paint off the keys now so I can turn around and repaint them white and slap some water-soluble decal paper on them. I think that’s going to help with the overall feel of the keys. It’s not so bad now, of course, but being slightly perfectionistic, I would rather the letters feel more or less flat against the keys, rather than slightly raised the way the stickers are.

Still though, I’d say I’m pretty pleased with the way things turned out.

6 Responses

  1. Holy cow! I’ve had my Neo for about four years, and I never thought about doing this. Your custom paint job rocks!

  2. Thanks!

  3. Wow! That is just awesome. I want one!! I think I’d go for a summery green…but I’m not sure I’d be game to pull it all apart! You’ve got me thinking though…. 🙂

  4. Eeeexcellent 🙂

  5. Wow! I can’t believe you can actually do that! They should of made skins to put onto the thing in the first place. Isn’t the Neo some ugly green? Thats just plane wrong. PLease go onto my blog (Volleyballrox228) Because i have a question about the alphasmarts
    THANKS!

  6. What’s up with that green color, anyway? Not like it’s totally terrible, but if they’re trying to appeal to school kids, I would have thought they might try something a little bit more pleasing to the eye. Not that I wanted my Alphasmart to look like a Magnadoodle or something, but I think kids would like it more if it was a more pleasant color.

Leave a Reply

