Neo on the way…

Tonight I ordered an Alphasmart Neo. Unfortunately, I can’t claim to have made this decision after thinking long and hard–well, I did think hard but I didn’t think about it for very long. Ponying up two hundred bucks isn’t necessarily the easiest thing in the world for me right now, but I figure that it could be a good investment. I do love my iMac, but I might do well just to save it for the editing stage. I’m an obsessive edit-as-you-go writer (which we all know is not conducive to voluminous word count) and I think that the super-simple six-line screen will really help me out in this department.

Hey, pretty...

Hey, pretty...

Plus how cool will it be to be able to have the ease and portability of a notebook, but the ability to type it all in? I thinkit’s really a win-win scenario. Of course, I’ll always have my moleskine tucked into a pocket, but I think that the Neo will be a really good blend between my notebook and my (wished for) laptop.

Even when I purchase the Macbook Air (after winning NaNoWriMo, that is) I think I’ll still want to keep this gorgeous thing around for first drafts. What could be better? I love to type, but I don’t always want to whip out the laptop–especially when I only have a minute or two to rush out a few sentences.

And I can’t wait to mod my new Neo out. I’m already fantasizing about dismantling it and turning that yucky green color into something gorgeous like this:

modded out by Schnozzfest

modded out by Schnozzfest

Oh, I can see it all now… Blue and brown, perhaps, with browned out keys and cool stickers on top? Or maybe I’ll do pink. I like pink. Pink and brown? And what about stickers on the sides and back? It’s all just way too exciting. I’m already counting the days until my Neo’s arrival.

And what will its name be? There’s so much to think about.

2 Responses

  1. Hi
    I invested in a Neo earlier this year and just LOVE it! It has totally revolutionized the way I write. Prior to Neo, my inner critic was overpowering…but she is no more! I have the upper hand – apparently my inner critic can’t comment on much when there’s only six lines of text to see!!

    Happy waiting, and more importantly, happy writing!

  2. Thanks! I’m really excited to get started with my Neo. I think it’s the perfect fusion of a rugged, scribbly notebook and a nice, convenient keyboard. What’s not to love? I’m still trying to figure out whether or not I can sneak it into work, but those are all worries for later 🙂

Leave a Reply

