The Bag o’ Ideas

Reach into the idea bag, children… The most marvelous wonders await you…

Seriously, though, I think that I might have come up with the basic idea for my NaNoWriMo novel by writing down things that I like on scraps of paper, then dumping them all into a bag and then fishing a few out, lottery style. Not sure where I got the idea. Maybe I made this one up all by myself, which is kind of a change of pace.

Anyway, I wrote a bunch of things down. Examples include: “Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” “The Office,” “Closet Monsters,” “Witches,” and “Zombies.” Then I set a timer for fifteen minutes and started picking out ideas from the bag, two at a time, totally randomly. For each combination, I wrote down story idea, no matter how stupid it seemed–“X-Men” combined with “Closet Monsters” and “Buffy” with “Closet Monsters” yielded some rather humorous results.

But the combination of “Zombies” and “The Office” did spark my interest.

If anything, it was a nice exercise to force my mind working and creating stories. You may not get anything out of it besides a bunch of strange ideas that probably don’t seem all that interesting, but hey, maybe you’ll stumble upon something cool and that will spark an idea for your NaNoWriMo novel.

Leave a Reply

