What comes next?

When did I start micromanaging my stories and my characters? When did I start wanting to know exactly what was going to happen next?

I wasn’t always like this. I used to be one of those writers who lingered at the other extreme–insisting on not knowing anything that would happen in the plot until I sat my butt down and wrote it. And then I started getting obsessed with plotting things down to the most minute detail.

It’s frustrating, really. I need to learn how to work with my stories. Problems come up, that’s just how it’s going to be. Instead of resisting the flow of the story and attempting to mold things back to what my original intentions were, I would just kind of ride the wave and see what would happen.

I’m starting to realize that so much of writing involves not just the self-discipline of putting your butt in the chair, but also the willingness to let go of your preconceived notions and allow the people in your head to do what they want to do and get into trouble.

Leave a Reply

