Going analog

For the moment, I’m writing the first draft of my novel by hand. Not sure when the thought struck me, but it is very refreshing to be able to just sit with a pad of paper and start scribbling stuff. For a while, the simplicity of it was really good for getting my inner-critic to bugger off and I found it a little easier to sit down and produce my 1000 words.

Lately, though, I’ve been jonesing for my good old iMac with its pretty little keyboard and big, glossy screen.

Then I imagine myself sitting hopelessly at my computer desk, getting taunted by my meager word count and wondering how the hell I’m supposed to break 1000. With the simple approach of just keeping a notebook, getting to 1000 can feel much less threatening. Currently, I can get between 175-195 words on a page, so that pretty much just means that I do about 5 1/2 pages per day, which goes a little faster than one might expect. And it’s nice to steal a few minutes of writing time at my day job when nobody’s looking.

I’m doing all of my worldbuilding and character development stuff on Scrivener and finding that I really miss being able to just tap-tap-tap and have everything organized. Damn, I love Scrivener. I have been able to say goodbye to the weird wall of index cards forever.

Now I’m considering taking a break from the notebook for a bit and moving back to the iMac. It would be nice to start thinking again in terms of scenes, rather than chapters, but I don’t know.

I suppose both methods have their own strong merits.

Leave a Reply

